Ripe Reviews
      Meet the Community     Latest Reviews     Sign In     Register  
Categories
Welcome to Ripe Reviews!

Ripe Reviews is about reviewing everything under the sun in an environment where no items are actually bought or sold.

It's about a creating review platform with more transparency built by a community of dedicated reviewers.

If you notice a glitch or have a suggestion, please understand that Ripe Reviews is new and drop us a line!
 
 

Reviews Written By KOMwriter

 
Sorted by Helpful First
5 Star11
4 Star12
3 Star6
2 Star2
1 Star0
Sort
Newest FirstOldest FirstPositive Reviews FirstNegative Reviews FirstMost Helpful Reviews First
Newest FirstOldest FirstPositive FirstNegative FirstHelpful First
 
Romeo + Juliet Directed by Baz Luhrmann
(Leonardo DiCaprio, Claire Danes) Release Date: 1996
 
 Updating Shakespeare...a tricky business   July 22, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
I rented this movie shortly after it was released on to video. Yes video (VHS). Anyway, I thought it was ok, overall. The direction and acting were decent. Visual. Action. Romance. A little more than what a company of theatrical actors could get from a stage performance. I know because I've seen a staged production as well as read the play a few times.

However, what missed for me with this film was the language. By that I mean updating the action of the story into modern, contemporary times but keeping the language as is. Shakespeare created beautiful, wonderful language. Everything an actor needed to know was written within the language. That was fine during the Elizabethan age. But in the mid-90's? That just doesn't work for me. That's what draws me in and out of the film.

Updating Shakespeare is a tricky business. I've experienced that in college. If it's done well, then it works. If it's not done well, then it doesn't work. It's that simple. Some people may still go for it but for this reviewer, it doesn't work for me. In college, our theatre department put on a production of Twelfth Night. I was not involved with that one but the director decided to update it to the 1960's. That to me worked because I felt some of the dialogue fit the style of the time period. The actors portrayed the characters in that style while still keeping Shakespeare's language alive. If you're going to update Shakespeare to a modern time, such as Luhrmann did with this film, I believe it would work better if he updated the language while keeping the essence of Shakespeare's genius.

So, while the acting, direction, and visuals might be decent enough to make this film a success, it missed something for me while it tried to update the story and action and not the language.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Amazon Mobile by AMZN Mobile LLC
(Android iOS Kindle Windows Windows 8)
 
 Good app   July 20, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I've used this a several times. It was easy to use and navigate for me. I was able to search for products and merchandise easily and add them to my cart. Checkout was easy too. No problems here.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Man Of Steel Directed by Zack Snyder
(Legendary Pictures, Syncopy, DC Entertainment)
 
 It's Superman!   July 19, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Overall I thought this film was ok. I'm not too keen on all of Superman folklore, but I know they took some liberty with some of the film. For example, the opening sequence with Krypton about to be destroyed was a different take on that world. With that being said, I think everything in the film fit the overall theme of the alien race and warrior like characters like Zod.

I did like the fact that it was just not another retelling of the origin story, but a "re-imagining" of the origin story. However, the characters, I do not feel, were fully developed as Lois seemed just a little flat in some of the film. And, it seemed that Superman did a lot of yelling and fighting in this film, which I guess took me out of it a little bit because I wasn't used to seeing that much intensity in the fight scenes and it didn't seem to fit the character or the moment for me. I felt Kevin Costner's portrayal of Jonathan Kent seemed a little flat as well.

But, overall the movie was ok. If you like visual effects and action, then you'll probably like this film.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
24
 
 A lot can happen in an hour...   July 18, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I began watching this show towards the end of its run. I was immediately hooked. A lot can happen in an hour. This show was groundbreaking in its time with the way it was shot and the format where each episode was an hour during one day. This show was written well and developed its stories and characters in every episode. If you haven't seen it, give it a look. However, I do admit that it may not be for everyone, but I thought it was a fantastic show based on the production of it and the writing and characters.
1 Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Bacon
 
 Tasty bacon!   September 7, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
I like bacon. I don't eat it often, but when I do, I savor the full flavor and taste of bacon. In fact, I just had some bacon last night. And when there's turkey bacon...it's even more delicious, at least in my opinion...and it's healthier.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Predator Directed by John McTiernan
(Arnold Schwarzenegger, Carl Weathers) Release Date: 1987
 
 Good Sci-Fi Action!   July 30, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
I thought this was a good film. Sci-Fi, action, suspense, a story, good characters...all good ingredients. The writing was very good and told a good story, while the interaction between all of the characters helped the story move along. Good film!
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (2001) by Warner Bros. Pictures
Directed by Chris Columbus (Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson) Release Date: 16 November 2001
 
 The first was....   July 30, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
I never read the books. I can only comment on how it was as a film by itself. I am going to be brief. I thought this film had a great story, character, action and suspense to resonate with audiences. A very good film.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
The Dark Knight Rises (2012) by Warner Bros. Pictures
Directed by Christopher Nolan (Christian Bale, Michael Caine, Gary Oldman) Release Date: July 20, 2012
 
 The Dark Knight Rises...and doesn't stop!   July 30, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
I personally liked this film. It seemed just a little long and actually did seem to drag a little towards the middle, but it picked back up. Maybe it was just me at the time when I saw it. That being said it had a story, characters, and action that made for a good film. It appeared a fitting ending to the trilogy, but I don't think it was as good as it's predecessor, The Dark Knight, but still a very good film.

Again, Bale's performance was very good as Wayne/Batman. Some people have said how much the gravely, throaty voice Bale used as Batman was unnecessary and over the top. I will say this again. I liked Bale's performance because it was like he was playing three different characters; the Batman, playboy Bruce Wayne, and wealthy, "normal" Bruce Wayne. I think it added something else to the character and film. That's just this man's opinion.

All in all, a very good film. Nolan brought a lot of life into this trilogy. He made a very good classic story of good vs. evil in this trilogy, but especially these last two installments. I believe if you enjoy going to the movies and seeing a great story of good vs. evil, then you should like this film.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
General Mills Cheerios
 
 All Around Good Food   July 22, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
Cheerios is nutritious, wholesome, and a good snack for everyone. It's not just for breakfast. It's decent food for decent people.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Grown Ups (2010) by Columbia Pictures
Directed by Dennis Dugan (Adam Sandler, Kevin James, Chris Rock, David Spade) Release Date: June 25, 2010
 
 A Grown Up Comedy   July 22, 2013   Report Abuse
By KOMwriter of www.awritersvoiceblog.wordpress.com    
This film had a good story, characters, and humor. I enjoyed this film also because it wasn't just another Adam Sandler movie. Sandler, James, Rock, and Spade played good characters that were real and funny.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 
< Previous     Next >  [First]   1   2   3   4   [Last]
 
 
 
Copyright © 2013 Ripe Reviews. All rights reserved.
Terms of Service   Privacy Policy   Contact Us   Latest Items
Congratulations to Crazy Savvy Chic voted best article about Ripe Reviews by eligible users (those with at least one review). Crazy Savvy Chic also generated the most traffic for the site.