Ripe Reviews
      Meet the Community     Latest Reviews     Sign In     Register  
Categories
Welcome to Ripe Reviews!

Ripe Reviews is about reviewing everything under the sun in an environment where no items are actually bought or sold.

It's about a creating review platform with more transparency built by a community of dedicated reviewers.

If you notice a glitch or have a suggestion, please understand that Ripe Reviews is new and drop us a line!
 
 

Reviews Written By jamie

 
Sorted by Helpful First
5 Star12
4 Star19
3 Star10
2 Star6
1 Star4
Sort
Newest FirstOldest FirstPositive Reviews FirstNegative Reviews FirstMost Helpful Reviews First
Newest FirstOldest FirstPositive FirstNegative FirstHelpful First
 
Kellogg's Special K Protein Plus
 
 Kellogg's Ruined This   July 2, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
I'm a healthy eater and used to like Special K Protein Plus because it was low in sugar, calories, and protein. Well, Kellogg's took care of that. They revised the formula, jacking up the sugar and calories. Way to ruin a good thing!
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Volt by Chevrolet
2011
 
 There's only one car I'd rather have   June 23, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I have nothing but good things to say about my Chevy Volt. I drive about 80 miles per day and go to the gas station once every two weeks. Driving on back roads, I can often squeeze 50 miles out of my Volt. At least in the summertime- the Volt definitely takes a hit in the winter, where I get closer to 35 miles. The Volt has a Sport mode which is inefficient relative to "normal" mode but delivers strong pickup that makes the Volt even more fun to drive.

So would I trade in my Volt for another car. Well, the Tesla Model S is definitely on my radar... I'd have to say that I'd rather not have to go to the gas station at all, which the Tesla would offer me. But I love the Volt and highly recommend it.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Hint Water
 
 Great when you need some flavor   August 4, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
I mostly drink water which can occasionally get dull. Hint gives you the purity of water with just a "hint" of natural flavor. The flavor is strong enough to enjoy, but with no added sweeteners (artificial or otherwise), Hint leaves you refreshed and not weighed down. Hint Water does not have any calories.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
CVS
 
 Overpriced, Cookie Cutter Drugstore   July 31, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
CVS has decent selection but there's a premium on everything you purchase. Extra Care Bucks are essentially store credit rewards that come with most of your purchases. They are kind of fun because you can use them right away, but of course they are not free, as Extra Care Bucks are funded by inflated prices.

The Pharmacy is good. In the end, the neighborhood drugstore has been replaced by the CVS's and Walgreens of the world. Is it an upgrade? Not when it comes to service, although the people at CVS are friendly enough. Cookie cutter drugstores like CVS also lack personality.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Dunkin Donuts
 
 Nice to be able to eat healthy...   July 29, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
What I like about Dunkin Donuts is how easy it is to grab something healthy on the run. Their egg white veggie wraps or egg and cheese English muffin sandwiches are good choices in a pinch- some quality protein without a lot of the bad stuff (read: sugar and saturated fat). It's also easy to make the wrong choices there, but if you care enough to research what you eat, Dunkin Donuts provides some fast food hope for eating healthy on the go.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Gel Kayano by Asics
 
 Worst running shoes I have ever owned   July 28, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
I had a pair of mid-priced Asics running shoes that I really liked. I used them for about a year and when it came time to replace then, staying with Asics was a no-brainer. I decided to upgrade to what were $150 gel Kayanos, and that was where the problems began.

Soon after I started running with these, I began experiencing problems with my lower legs- ankles and calf muscles were aching badly. It wasn't long before I decided to begin using my Nike Torch sneakers for running instead of these.

This morning I laced these things up for a spin on the exercise bike. While I was lacing them up, the tag with sizing information peeled off of the tongue of one of the shoes (reinforcing how bad they are). I hit the exercise bike and found that these shoes were bad even for that! I switched back to my Torch sneakers and re-started the bike ride. Much easier with the Nike Torch.

The bottom line is that I would not buy Asics again after this experience. I wouldn't recommend Gel Kayano to anyone.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Egg Perfect by Burton
 
 This thing is great!   July 27, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
Hard boiling eggs can be a bit of a challenge- you're pretty much guessing most of the time when setting a timer and pulling the eggs out. Who hasn't experienced the famous dark green center or undercooked yolk? This little timer does all the magic for you. Throw the timer into the boiling water with the eggs and it will change color allowing you to clearly see if your boiled eggs are soft, medium, or hard. Such a simple thing that makes life a bit easier. I would recommend this little gadget for any kitchen!
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Frankenweenie
 
 Could not even finish...   July 24, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
Frankenweenie started out good enough, but at some point the story just became tense and predictable. In fact, I didn't even finish it. The animation was great and the premise was good, but the usual "somebody steals something that isn't theirs and uses it for evil" plotline eventually takes over and a good, quirky movie becomes unwatchable.
Recommended Instead: Hotel Transylvania (2012) Genndy Tartakovsky Adam
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Hotel Transylvania (2012) by Sony Pictures Animation
Directed by Genndy Tartakovsky (Adam Sandler, Andy Samberg, Selena Gomez) Release Date: September 28, 2012
 
 Really liked this!   July 24, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
Hotel Transylvania was a very pleasant surprise for me. I made the mistake of lumping it in with Frankenweenie which was so bad, I actually didn't finish it. But I had quite the opposite experience with Hotel Transylvania... The story was positive, the characters were adorable. I really enjoyed it from start to finish.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Imagine Dragons by Interscope
Night Visions Release Date: February 12, 2013
 
 Not a fan overall   July 23, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com    
While I'm not a fan of Imagine Dragons (and turned down the chance to go to one of their shows), I do like their most popular song - Radioactive. Really, their stuff is not my sound, but I can tolerate it and Radioactive is cool. I'm somewhere between 2 and 3 stars. I don't hate their music but I don't really like it much or feel that it has much substance.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 
< Previous     Next >  [First]   1   2   3   4   5  ...  [Last]
 
 
 
Copyright © 2013 Ripe Reviews. All rights reserved.
Terms of Service   Privacy Policy   Contact Us   Latest Items
Congratulations to Crazy Savvy Chic voted best article about Ripe Reviews by eligible users (those with at least one review). Crazy Savvy Chic also generated the most traffic for the site.