Ripe Reviews
      Meet the Community     Latest Reviews     Sign In     Register  
Categories
Welcome to Ripe Reviews!

Ripe Reviews is about reviewing everything under the sun in an environment where no items are actually bought or sold.

It's about a creating review platform with more transparency built by a community of dedicated reviewers.

If you notice a glitch or have a suggestion, please understand that Ripe Reviews is new and drop us a line!
 
 

Reviews Written By TheReview

 
Sorted by Helpful First
5 Star0
4 Star3
3 Star3
2 Star0
1 Star0
Sort
Newest FirstOldest FirstPositive Reviews FirstNegative Reviews FirstMost Helpful Reviews First
Newest FirstOldest FirstPositive FirstNegative FirstHelpful First
 
Orion: Dino Horde (PC)
 
 Dinos, Guns and Jetpacks, Oh My!   July 24, 2014   Report Abuse
By TheReview of thereviewonline.info    
For most of us, we played with dinosaurs when we were growing up. Well, Orion: Dino Horde (previously Dino Beatdown) ups the ante on that play with dinos, jetpacks, tanks and shoot-em-up gaming that has the potential to put other games to shame.

Orion: Dino Horde is the current iteration of the Orion game from indie developer, Spiral Game Studios. In an excerpt from their site, they describe the game as a "fast-paced, first person shooter with a heavy emphasis on team-based, multiplayer play. The game itself is set on an alien world that is similar in nearly every way to our earth in prehistoric times."

To some people, that makes perfect sense, but I know there are a few of you out there saying "What the heck are they talking about?" In simple terms (and by that, I am in no way implying that any of you are simple), the game is a a first person shooter where you and a team of mercenaries have to protect your base from a horde of killer dinos. Paleo-nerds of the world unite!

Of course, Survival isn't the only game mode available to play. There is also a Rampage mode where 5 humans have to steal three eggs, all without getting killed by a player controlled T-Rex or his army of AI controlled dinosaurs. While I haven't had a chance to play in this mode myself, this on it's own sounds epic. There are also several Arena based game modes that are variations on the standard game.

As you play, you gain access to various new weapons and augmentations that you can purchase with credits earned through game play. These can range anywhere from your standard assault rifles and pistols to not-so-standard compound bows (haven't had a chance to try those yet) and rocket turrets. As far as augmentations go, you can get increased damage, credits, or even decreased fall damage, all very useful things. You also gain access to various vehicles that spawn onto the map after certain objectives have been fulfilled. Let me tell you, the first time I played and my team got a tank, it was awesome.

The game play itself is decent enough. You can't really go wrong with shooting dinosaurs that are trying to hunt you down and kill you. The addition of the big dinos is, in my opinion, one of the best ones. As you play, big "boss" dinos will spawn in, and they require the whole team to work together to take them down. Taking them down will cause the game to go into slow motion for the duration of their fall and reward you with a nice pile of credits for spending.

The multiplayer matchmaking was kinda appalling though, at least it was prior to the latest update. Before, you picked the gametype you wanted, and it would automatically choose a server for you. While this is fine and dandy, if you ended up with a host who didn't want to start the game, you could be stuck leaving and entering the same lobby for close to an hour before a new one opened up. The latest update made it so you could choose the server you wanted based on the map, gametype and difficulty, making it a lot better.

Overall, the game is pretty darn good. It has high replayability due to the number of maps and game modes, as well as they growing community behind it. Plus, when the next version of the game comes out, anyone who owns the current version will get their game upgraded for free, even if the game name changes. If you ever wanted to shoot some dinos, or even just enjoy multiplayer shooters, Dino Horde may be for you. It is available for purchase on Steam.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Chew #1
By John Layman, Rob Guillory
 
 On the contrary, my esteemed constables.   July 24, 2014   Report Abuse
By TheReview of thereviewonline.info    
I came into this comic with the idea that it was zombie related. I was so wrong. Chew is the story of Tony Chu. Tony is a cop. He is also a cibopath, which means that when he eats something, he gets psychic sensations about where everything in it came from, except, for unknown reasons, beets.

Tony lives in a time where the government has outlawed chicken due to bird flu fears. Because of this, things like chicken speakeasies and Poultfree imitation chicken exist. Sounds crazy, right? That seems pretty tame when you find out what happens after Tony and his partner's stakeout. I'm going to stop there, don't want to give away too much of the story.

The comic has great attention to detail, as well as a great hook to bring the reader in. Plus the story is just believable enough to keep it grounded in reality. The characters are very well written, and are quite believable as well.

The only real bad thing about the comic in my opinion is the lack of rereadability. Some comics you can read over and over again, but this one isn't really one of them. That's not to say that later issues in the series have this problem as well, but the first issue does for sure.

Chew #1 is a good comic overall. It has drama, suspense, a little bit of a sci-fi element, and just enough craziness to make it unpredictable. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get into a new series. And, to top it all off, the issue is free on Google Play. How about that?
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
The Purge: Anarchy Directed by James DeMonaco
(Frank Grillo) Release Date: July 18, 2014
 
 An American Tradition   July 24, 2014   Report Abuse
By TheReview of thereviewonline.info    
I recently had the opportunity to go see The Purge: Anarchy. I wasn't entirely sure what to expect, due to the trailers showing that it was vastly different from the first movie. I was quite impressed, and rightly so, considering that two of the producers were Jason Blum (Insidious, Paranormal Activity) and Michael Bay (Transformers).

Unlike the first movie, which was set in a family's house during the annual Purge, Anarchy follows a group that is stuck outside during it. This makes for a much more thrilling story in my opinion. In a house, there are limited directions someone wanting to kill you could come from. Out in the open in the city, people can come from any direction, and things become very unpredictable.

Personally, I am glad that they did this. I feel that if they followed the format of the first film, it would basically become more of the same and not be very interesting. And for those of you who may be wondering, Anarchy has really no connection to the first movie, other than a small cameo of someone who was in the first movie.


One of the many purgers
Overall, the story is great. It's pretty clear what has to happen for the main characters to survive, but there is enough suspense and drama to keep it interesting. There's even a few surprises that I definitely was not expecting. Surprising. My one complaint is that there are a few spots where the movie drags. It could have stood a bit more action.

The characters were pretty well written as well. They were interesting to say the least. Sadly, I just didn't fall in love with any of them. I understood their struggles, but they definitely weren't my favorite characters in a movie.

Lastly, rewatchability in this one is kind of up in the air. Like most horror movies, once you know what is going to happen, it kinda takes the fun out of watching it multiple times. But, producer Jason Blum is known for putting little things into his movies that you may not notice the first run through.

Overall, the movie was a pretty good thriller. It had a decent story and the characters were quite believable as well. The action could have been increased, and you may or may not benefit from watching it a second time, but I'm pretty confident in saying that if you liked the first one, you're going to like this one.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Transformers: Age of Extinction Directed by Michael Bay
(Mark Wahlberg)
 
 Stand Together or Face Extinction.   July 24, 2014   Report Abuse
By TheReview of thereviewonline.info    
Fast cars. Giant robots. A hot girl. All these things we've come to expect from Michael Bay's Transformers franchise. And this one includes giant robot dinosaurs! It was because of this that I was super excited to see the newest installment, Age of Extinction, as soon as I could.

I left the theatre with mixed emotions.

Let me first start off by saying that the replacement of Sam Witwicky (Shia LeBeouf) with Cade Yeager (Mark Wahlberg) was a great idea. I love Shia, but it was time to bring in a new character. And Mark absolutely killed it! The rapper-turned-actor is very believable as the inventor/father Cade Yeager.

Most of the other characters (human and robot alike) are also quite good as well. My only real complaints about them would be a few aesthetic things about the Transformers (like Hound not being a Jeep) and how certain characters were portrayed.

Above all else, my largest complaint, however, is how the Dinobots were treated. Every single trailer that was released for AoE showcased at least one Dinobot, mainly Grimlock, their leader. By this logic, I figured they would feature prominently in the film. In all actuality though, they were relegated to a minor part at the very end of the movie. Out of almost 3 hours of movie, the oft-advertised Dinobots only were in about 10-15 minutes. I mean, really?

The story was mildly decent as well. It picks up 5 years after the events of Dark of the Moon, and although it starts out slow, the action picks up pretty quickly from there. The movie is nearly 3 hours long, but due to the amount of action, it doesn't drag on too terribly. It does leave the door wide open for another sequel, and hints somewhat subtly at a certain very large villain.

For this one, I'm only giving it 5
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Man Of Steel Directed by Zack Snyder
(Legendary Pictures, Syncopy, DC Entertainment)
 
 You just have to decide what kind of man you want to grow up to be, Clark. Whoever that man is, he   July 24, 2014   Report Abuse
By TheReview of thereviewonline.info    
DC fans, your next movie has arrived. Man of Steel, the newest incarnation of Superman, takes the hero to a new, more realistic place that he's never been before. Director Zack Snyder (of 300 and Watchmen fame) portrays Kal-El as the alien that he is, and shows us how the world would most likely react as if he truly was real.

Overall, the movie takes on a darker, more realistic look, no doubt thanks to Dark Knight director Christopher Nolan's involvement as a writer. According to writer David Goyer (who also worked on the Dark Night trilogy), they wanted to portray Superman as if his story really happened. How would people react to a super-powered alien showing up? I feel that they really did this successfully, which helps fuel the thoughts of a successful Batman/Superman and/or Justice League in the future, the latter of which is almost certainly a sure thing.

That being said, it does suffer a bit from Originstoryitis so far. As necessary as they are to help people who've never heard of the hero (who hasn't heard of Superman?), they just aren't as interesting as in a movie with established heroes. Marvel's The Avengers and its related stand-alone films are a good example of this; buzz about the films after the team-up movie is much more than for those before. Only time, and subsequent movies, will tell if this trend continues.

The movie starts out a bit slow, but shows some of Kal-El's back-story before thrusting us into present day. Throughout the film, we get thrown back to the past in flashbacks. While these do add a little to the story, I feel that they could have been handled a little better, or even put them at the beginning of the film in chronological order.

MoS may not have a lot of rewatchability, but the characters are really well developed. No offense to fellow Iowan Brandon Routh, but Henry Cavill absolutely kills it as Superman. And Michael Shannon as the movie's villain General Zod is delightfully sinister, even though you can understand why he does what he does. All in all, the attention to detail, both in the characters and in the little things scattered throughout the film, are amazing.

All things considered, MoS is a good movie. It takes a well known character (who's had so many film adaptations it's not even funny) and turns him into a believable hero. Not only does it do that, but it quite easily gets the ball rolling for the DC Universe to have its own team-up movie a la The Avengers. I recommend everyone go see this, 3D not required.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
Finding Nemo (2003) by Walt Disney Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios
Directed by Andrew Stanton (Albert Brooks, Alexander Gould, Ellen DeGeneres) Release Date: May 30, 2003
 
 Awesome movie   July 24, 2014   Report Abuse
By TheReview of thereviewonline.info    
So, Finding Nemo came out in 2003, 11 whole years ago (MAN, do I feel old). It was just recently re-released in 3D, hence the review.

Most of you out there should know the general storyline of the movie. The title character Nemo, gets captured by some divers and his father travels across the ocean to find him. Add in some comedy relief in the form of a fish with a short-term memory problem and some surfer dude turtles, and you have the makings of a movie everyone can enjoy.

In fact, so many people enjoyed it that it has the honor of being the best selling DVD of all time, a position that it has held since 2005. Not only is it at the top of the list, but it has beaten out such contenders as the Lord of the Rings trilogy (individually anyway), The Dark Knight, and the Pirates of the Caribbean series (individually). I have a feeling that the addition of the 3D variant of the film will push DVD sales even higher (once it gets re-released to DVD/BluRay), which is probably why Disney/Pixar is re-releasing some of their most popular movies in 3d.

Chances are, you have seen the movie, so I am not going to go into much more detail about the story than I already have. However, I will tell you what I thought of the 3D adaptation. In all honesty, for most of the film, you couldn't even tell that it was in 3D. There were a few spots that it really worked well, but overall, it wasn't that great. Because this is a movie that was adapted for 3D, you really shouldn't expect too much anyway though.

I decided that I would give this movie 8
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright © 2013 Ripe Reviews. All rights reserved.
Terms of Service   Privacy Policy   Contact Us   Latest Items
Congratulations to Crazy Savvy Chic voted best article about Ripe Reviews by eligible users (those with at least one review). Crazy Savvy Chic also generated the most traffic for the site.