Ripe Reviews
      Meet the Community     Latest Reviews     Sign In     Register  
« All Categories
Stores
 

Browse by Brand

There are no browsable brands in this category yet.
 

Suggest a Category

If you can't find the right category for something, please let us know!
 
 

Leading Critic

in Stores
saivamsi
6 reviews
 
 

Most Item Pages Added

in Stores
jamie
3 item pages
 
 
 
Stores & Services > Stores

Image added by saivamsi
Walmart (Item added by saivamsi)

Based on 14 Reviews
 
Item ID: 172   Report Abuse
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., branded as Walmart, is an American multinational retail corporation that runs chains of large discount department stores and warehouse stores. The company is the world's third largest public corporation, according to the Fortune Global 500 list in 2012, the biggest private employer in the world with over two million employees, and is the largest retailer in the world. Walmart remains a family-owned business, as the company is controlled by the Walton family, who own a 48 percent stake in Walmart. It is also one of the world's most valuable companies. Edit Description (Description last edited by saivamsi)
Add an Item Image
 
Ask a Question »Add a Pro or Con »Add a Best Price »
 

Most Often Recommended Instead

 

Reviews

Write a Review
Sorted by Oldest First  
5 Star3
4 Star2
3 Star7
2 Star2
1 Star0
Throw away reviews from reviewers with 3 or fewer reviews.
Sort
Newest FirstOldest FirstPositive Reviews FirstNegative Reviews FirstMost Helpful Reviews First
Newest FirstOldest FirstPositive FirstNegative FirstHelpful First
 
 Reliably low prices   July 1, 2013   Report Abuse
By TKStar   See my 30 reviews »
My experience with Walmart is that they have reliably low prices. However, their selection tends to be very bland and mainstream. It is great for staple items, but if you want something unique or less mainstream, look elsewhere.

I used to work at Walmart about 15 years ago. They were actually a great place to work as long as you "colored within the lines." I liked the fact that they employ a diverse population, and different Walmarts did different community events (my favorite was bingo for senior citizens).

Overall, an okay place to shop for staples.
Disclosure: I am an insider. What's this?
Recommended Instead: Target
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 Good to get some basic stuff   July 5, 2013   Report Abuse
By saivamsi   See my 84 reviews »
I always like to shop at Walmart, mostly to get the most basic stuff like food,hygiene supplies and some times T-shirts or shorts, once in a while electronic stuff too. I never actually faced any problem with them. I was always helped and it is OK a place to shop, but I don't prefer buying clothes, they suck.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 Could be much better   July 5, 2013   Report Abuse
By jamie of www.adsella.com     See my 51 reviews »
Sometimes Wal-Mart can be great, sometimes terrible. There is a lot of variation from store to store. Some seem to be well managed while others not so much. Prices also fluctuate greatly from region to region, which is annoying. Overall, it's not a place I like to shop at a lot. Once in awhile when I'm in need of specific things that Wal-Mart has at a good price, I'll make the trip to one of their better stores. Honestly, though, it's usually worth it to me to simply pay more and not endure the rat race.
Recommended Instead: Target
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 Great!!!   July 7, 2013   Report Abuse
By Monroekjm   This is my only review so far.
I love to shop at Wal-Mart. They have everything. Anything I need can be found at Wal-Mart. From clothes, to shoes, to pet supplies, gardening supplies, seasonal items, school supplies, furniture, home d
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 Top of the chain   July 7, 2013   Report Abuse
By realoun   This is my only review so far.
I love Walmart. I know they guarantee low prices so I'm never regret shopping there. Anything I need, Walmart is sure to have it. When I think shopping, I think Walmart. I basically eat, sleep, and crave Walmart. Its like that amazon website but even better because I can physically walk in the store to browse and examine products to make sure it is what I want and not questionable because of misleading description or what have you. Don't buy something without checking Walmart prices, the prices are usaully lower, for example I spent $5 more at kaymart for a mattress cover, I havent found one lower than the price for one at Walmart, and quality is better.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 like   July 7, 2013   Report Abuse
By jess15us   See my 4 reviews »
This store is great and big I love to shop here with my family. It has all I need in one and great prices.
Disclosure: I am an insider. What's this?
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 Horrible Place to use Coupons   July 8, 2013   Report Abuse
By killer103b     This is my only review so far.
Walmart is definitely the place to shop in my community. If you need to buy anything in one place, this would be the place to go. I'm a couponer and love to shop for a good! Walmart is one of the worst places to do this though! Any time I use a coupon there a customer service representative goes through my entire grocery purchase, scrutinizing everything and reading through the coupon several times. Then I usually have to fight them about their coupon policy because none of them actually know it. I have actually been accused of coupon fraud from them once because they don't understand the policy.

All in all, if you have coupons, try a different store if you can!
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 My love-hate relationship.   July 9, 2013   Report Abuse
By bammbamm37   This is my only review so far.
I haven't always had a love-hate relationship with. walmart. When I first started going about 21 years ago, it was awesome. but about 10 years ago it started slipping,not just to me but to a lot of people. When Mr. Sam died, walmart went to pot. The part I do like is that they price match from other stores.Unfortunatly the cart people are worked to death. Those people need more breaks in between bringing them in in really hot weather. One other thing,they will only have 2-3 registers open when there are maybe 40 people waiting to pay and go home.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 Shop Walmart first   July 9, 2013   Report Abuse
By larcd   This is my only review so far.
I have been going to the same Walmart for the past 20 years, despite changing locations and expanding. I find that Walmart can be counted on for low prices, and really like the price matching. The service is almost non-existent until recently. Since the Food Lion commercials making fun of the lack of service at Walmart, there have actually been sales clerks available to help. When I went grocery shopping this weekend, there were actual butchers available to help with steaks and seafood. I still wouldn't go to Walmart if I didn't know what I wanted and needed advice on choice, but at least they are trying.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 Needs Improvement   July 9, 2013   Report Abuse
By momofthree   See my 4 reviews »
I shop Walmart because its so close to my house but I do have some issues with the store. It could be cleaner.There are always carts with merchandeise that needs to be stocked in the middle of the walk ways. They almost never have the one thing I need to go in for. I do like their produce.It seems to be fresher than the grocery store in the neighborhood.
Add a Comment   You must sign in to vote on the helpfulness of reviews.
Like my reviews? Follow me on Ripe Reviews »
 
 
 
< Previous     Next >  [First]   1   2   [Last]
 
 
 
Copyright © 2013 Ripe Reviews. All rights reserved.
Terms of Service   Privacy Policy   Contact Us   Latest Items
Congratulations to Crazy Savvy Chic voted best article about Ripe Reviews by eligible users (those with at least one review). Crazy Savvy Chic also generated the most traffic for the site.